Just 21 Days Left Until…21 Days!

Just 21 days from today, I start a new journey.  The date will be January 1, 2011, and I will begin what is likely to be the most intense re-attunement I have ever done.

First…What is an “Attunement”, and why would one need/want a “Re-Attunement”?

(If you don’t now what Reiki is, start by clicking here.)

An attunement is a ceremony performed by a Reiki Teacher to essentially “tune in” their student to Reiki energy, thus starting their ability to practice.  After getting an attunement, a student can begin giving Reiki to themselves or others.  There are different attunements at each level, of which there are usually 3 (this can vary from teacher to teacher).  These attunements are believed to kick start the healer, and help them by bringing up any issues that need attention or healing.  This process takes about 21 days, the time the founder of the art, Mikao Usui, spent meditating and fasting atop Mount Kurama before having a Satori (moment of sudden enlightenment) that included the sacred symbols included in the practice. (Mikao Usui was a Buddhist Monk of the Tendai tradition, and the 21 day long meditation & fast is a practice they observe to this day.)  At any point, a student or practitioner, no matter how long they have been practicing, can “re-attune”, or have their current level attunement performed again, to bring about this 21 day process, and to reconnect to their Reiki practice.

I’m going to undertake this 21 days, starting on January 1, and each day I will receive some form of healing.  From Reiki to Reflexology to Art Therapy to Cupping; this January, a cornucopia of wellness awaits me.  Some of these methods, often termed “modalities” in the world of Healing Arts, will be new to me and others old and trusted routines.  And in the middle of it, January 15th, my 30th Birthday, and roughly the end of my Saturn Return (I promised to turn 29 only once when I was about 6, and was confused at how my Mother had managed to do so repeatedly).

What do I seek to gain from this experiment?  I’d like very much to connect to my personal healing, and to discover new ways to heal.  And why publicly?  Because I would like to share it with all of you.  A part of deciding to do this blog was to have a place to showcase different modalities, and the other (bigger) part is to address the issue of healing with compassion, and of the healer as the client.

“Compassion is not a relationship between the healer and the wounded. It’s a relationship between equals. Only when we know our own darkness
well can we be present with the darkness of others. Compassion becomes real when we recognize our shared humanity.”
– Pema Chödrön (The Places That Scare You: A Guide to Fearlessness in Difficult Times)

Not many (hardly any) of you know this, but in addition to being a Reiki Practitioner with a penchant for boxed red wine, I am a recovering anorexic.  The healing arts have been abundantly helpful for my healing, as have Western methods.  And yet, this will always be a part of me.  This will not go away, although it does get easier to contend with over time.  It was very difficult to decide to go public with this, but I think it is important.  I hope that by embracing my own darkness, and being open to publicly heal & struggle myself while being a healer,  that other healers will be inclined to look inward (or to do so again, because there is always sooo much more we can do for ourselves), allowing more compassion to take root in ourselves, as well as the healing communities throughout Philadelphia and perhaps beyond.  There will be more details on my experience in the days to come, but for now, you can read the about page.

And don’t worry, friends from back home in Jersey-all of you with a morbid fascination for the strange things people will do to themselves in the name of wellness will also be entertained, and there will be pictures.  And videos.  And, on at least one occasion….FIRE!

Thanks to you all,

Danielle

One thought on “Just 21 Days Left Until…21 Days!

  1. Kim Fleisher

    Hi Danielle,
    I’m so blessed to know you, and have you as an compadre on this healing life journey. Your reiki path is an inspiration to many, and a gift to the world my friend! I really resonate with your sentiments, and Pema Chodrons, of the healing relationship being between equals. How lucky am I that I got to be one of your humble teachers; I learn so much from you too! I believe that we can only really bring out the best in ourselves, and each other, when we can see inner awesomeness, coupled with humanness, in each other. Thank you for having a blog and sharing your journey.

Leave a Reply

